There are nearly endless ways to arrange, sort, and filter your boards. But you'll soon find yourself spending most of your time working with several specific views of your data.

productboard allows you to save views of your boards so you can easily toggle between them. It's like having different snapshots of your board that you can return to at any time.

As soon as you make a change to an existing view, you'll be able to update it by saving your changes. Otherwise, select Discard Changes or simply refresh the page to revert to the last saved view.

Board configurations that can be captured in a view include all of the following:

  • Show/hide columns to display different kinds of data on your boards.
  • Arrange/group feature ideas by hierarchy, sorted list, release, or status.
  • Sorts applied to features (e.g. by User impact, Prioritization score).
  • Filters applied to your board.

Feature data itself is not captured in the view, so any changes to a feature's status, release, or driver score will always be automatically preserved and will not be impacted by views.

Sharing a saved view

When you first create a new saved view, it will only be visible to you. But you can also share it with the rest of the product team or organization (provided they've been invited into productboard).

To share the current view, select the icon beside its name:

You can also access share settings for other saved views :

Update the share settings for a given view:

Updating a saved view

For views shared with your Team (editors only), or Company (editors and contributors), any edits you make will only be visible to others users once you've saved the view to update it. Otherwise they'll only be visible to you.

You'll know there are unsaved edits on a given view if you see a save button appear toward the top of your screen:

Save the view to update it, or else select the view's name and then Discard changes to revert to the last saved version of the view.

Saved view examples

Top requests

Use a Top requests view to review recently-requested features that one or more people have indicated are important, critical, etc.

For this view, the board is arranged as a sorted list, with a filtered User impact score column.

Market needs

Use a Market needs view to capture feature ideas in your product hierarchy and begin surfacing those that best address the needs of particular people, companies, and segments.

Feature prioritization

Use a Feature prioritization view that arranges your board as a sorted list, based on each features' User impact score or Prioritization score. Then add features to initiatives or upcoming releases.

Release planning

Use a Release planning view that arranges features by the release they've been added to. The effort column helps you keep track of the estimates you've attained for each feature and drag 'n drop them between releases accordingly. Additional data columns help you reference some of the key prioritization criteria that could help you decide what to build now versus delay til later.

Kanban planning

If your team adheres to kanban or continuous delivery rather than set releases, use a Kanban planning saved view to see your features arranged by their current status. Track features as they flow upwards from new idea to launched. Show additional prioritization criteria to help you decide which features to promote from one status to the next.

Progress by release

Once you're ready to move forward with your plans, you'll want a way to track each feature's progress toward delivery. Use a view arranged by release with Task columns showing to track tasks that must be completed before a featue is delivered.

Progress by status

For kanban teams, use a progress by status view, similar to the view described above but arranged by status.

These are just examples. We expect you'll have more of your own! 💡

FAQ

Q: Why can't my colleagues see the changes I just made to a view?

If you've shared a view with others, they'll see the last saved version of that view. That means if you'd like them to see any subsequent changes you've made, you'll need to save it.

Did this answer your question?