There are nearly endless ways to arrange, sort, and filter your feature ideas on your Features board, but you'll tend to return to a select few board configurations for each of several PM use cases.
- Organizing new feature ideas
- Prioritizing what to build next
- Planning when to deliver it
- Monitoring each feature's progress toward delivery/launch
That's where saved views come in.
Saving a view captures the board's current configuration for later reference, or for sharing with others.
Saved views on the Features board work similarly to collections on the Insights board and roadmaps on the Roadmap board.
If you're just starting out, you'll notice that any change you make to your Features board gives you a new option to update the existing view (Save), save the current configuration as a new view (Save as new), or revert to the last saved version of the view (Discard changes).
All the following board configurations can be captured in a saved view:
- Which columns are showing
- How features are grouped (e.g. Sorted list, By hierarchy)
- How features are sorted (e.g. by user impact, prioritization score)
- How features are filtered
Feature data itself is not captured in the view, so any changes to a feature's status, release, or driver score will have no impact on saved views, and vice versa. (Changes to features and their underlying data are automatically reflected on all views where that feature appears.)
If you make changes to a view, it must be saved in order to be retained. Otherwise, when you navigate away or refresh your browser, the view will revert to the last saved version of the view.
Sharing a saved view
Custom sharing settings for saved views is available on the Team plan and above.
Select the icon beside a view's name to update its sharing settings.
By default, views are private with access limited to the person who created it.
You can share a view with certain individuals invited as members in your workspace, or everyone assigned to a certain team.
Or you can share a view with all makers, or with contributors as well.
In any event, sharing a view with others means it will show up in their list of views as well.
Which roles can edit saved views
- Contributors can't update views shared with them, nor can they create new views.
- Makers can update views shared with them, and any changes they save will be visible to all.
When makers make a change to an existing view, the change will only be visible to others when saved.
A note on sharing views with private fields
In productboard, you can customize the sharing settings for individual fields like particular objectives, tasks, or drivers. If you try to share a view that contains fields not shared with the same audience (contained in filters, or displayed as columns), you'll have the option of removing those fields, or else updating their sharing settings.
Renaming or deleting a saved view
Additional configuration options are available in your saved view list. From here you can rename or delete a saved view. These changes will immediately be reflected for all with access to the view.
Saved view examples
So how might you put saved views to use? Consider the recurring ideation, prioritization, planning, and status tracking use cases you have. These would be great views to create. Are there any modifications you'd have to make to share these with stakeholders? These could be additional views.
Read on for some ideas below.
Use a Top requests view to review recently-requested features that one or more people have indicated are important, critical, etc.
For this view, the board is arranged as a sorted list, with a filtered User impact score column.
Use a Market needs view to capture feature ideas in your product hierarchy and begin surfacing those that best address the needs of particular people, companies, and segments.
Use a Feature prioritization view that arranges your board as a sorted list, based on each features' user impact score or Prioritization score. Then add features to initiatives or upcoming releases.
On the Features board, use the matrix to evaluate the priority of features within each of your most important important objectives, save each as their own view that you can return to at any time.
Use a Release planning view that arranges features by the release they've been added to. The effort column helps you keep track of the estimates you've attained for each feature and drag 'n drop them between releases accordingly. Additional data columns help you reference some of the key prioritization criteria that could help you decide what to build now versus push back to deliver later.
Use multiple release groups to coordinate work across multiple teams using different release schedules, or to capture information on when features will be delivered in addition to when they'll be launched (from a marketing standpoint).
If your team adheres to kanban or continuous delivery rather than set releases, use a Kanban planning saved view to see your features arranged by their current status. Track features as they flow upwards from new idea to launched. Show additional prioritization criteria to help you decide which features to promote from one status to the next.
- More info: Customize your feature status values
Progress by release
Once you're ready to move forward with your plans, you'll want a way to track each feature's progress toward delivery. Use a view arranged by release with Task columns showing to track tasks that must be completed before a featue is delivered.
Progress by status
For kanban teams, use a progress by status view, similar to the view described above but arranged by status.
These are just examples. We expect you'll have more of your own! 💡
Q: Why can't my colleagues see the changes I just made to a saved view?
Any changes you make to a saved view will only be updated for all to see when you save them. Otherwise they'll only be visible to you and will be discarded when you navigate away from productboard or refresh your browser.