When you invite colleagues to your workspace as new members, use roles to define what they can see and do. Roles can always be updated from the Members page but may affect how much you pay. (We'll notify you if so.)

Paid roles

Maker with admin access: full edit rights on all boards + manage members, integrations, settings, and billing

  • Set up and manage integrations
  • Manage subscription and billing information
  • Invite team members and manage roles
  • Delete workspace and all data
  • Create new Portals and update Portal settings
  • Create/edit/delete features and notes
  • Submit feedback via Chrome extension
  • Leave comments and @mention colleagues

Maker: full edit rights on all boards

  • Create/edit/delete features and notes
  • Submit feedback via Chrome extension
  • Leave comments and @mention colleagues
  • View existing integrations (but not configure)
  • Can be assigned owner of features

Additional roles

Contributors are colleagues who provide user insights and access product roadmaps, e.g. sales and support. 

More info: plans & pricing

Contributor:

  • Create and tag new notes
  • Highlight and link insights to related features in notes they own or create
  • Assign ownership of notes they own or create
  • Submit feedback via Chrome extension
  • View data on Features and Roadmap boards
  • Review Portal if shared with company or made public
  • Leave comments and @mention colleagues
  • Can follow features to receive notifications

Viewer: view-only access limited to the Roadmap

  • View roadmaps that have been shared with them
  • View details about features appearing on roadmaps
  • Leave comments on features appearing on roadmaps
  • Review portals, if shared with team or shared via public/private link

When in doubt, you can feel confident inviting new people into your productboard workspace as viewers. You'll always be able to control what they can and cannot see in productboard, and they won't be able to interact except to leave comments on features.

Granting access to a specific roadmap or saved view on the Features board

Every roadmap/saved view has three access options:

  • Keep it private 🔒
  • Share with individual users that you choose
  • Grant access to a type of user based on their role

This means you might have an array of roadmaps with different types of audiences:

  • A Mobile Roadmap which is accessible to users on the team "Mobile"
  • A Roadmap that you've shared with Alice, Jeremy, and Inez
  • A simplified Roadmap which is shared with all contributors and viewers

Portal users

End users contributing insights and feature ideas via the Portal do not need a full productboard account and don't count towards plan-based contributor limits.

Did this answer your question?